President Donald Trump said Saturday that he will postpone the annual Group of 7 summit until September and plans on inviting Russia to rejoin the group.

“I don’t feel that as a G7 it properly represents what’s going on in the world,” Trump said. “It’s a very outdated group of countries.”

He also mentioned that he intends to invite South Korea, Australia and India to the meeting to discuss China.

“We want Australia, we want India, we want South Korea,” Trump said. “And what do we have? That’s a nice group of countries right there.”


A week of political news in your in-box.
We find the news you need to know, so you don't have to.

Currently, the Group of 7 is composed of the United States, Germany, Japan, France, Britain, Canada and Italy.

As the host president, Trump can invite any leader he wants to the meeting. However, official rejoining would require approval from the other nations who have previously opposed the idea after Russia was suspended from the group in 2014 over its annexation of Crimea from Ukraine.

“The people of Crimea, from what I’ve heard, would rather be with Russia than where they were,” Trump told ABC News during his campaign in 2016. “And you have to look at that, also.”

Trump previously sparked controversy when he suggested in October the event be held at Trump National Doral resort near Miami. Holding the event at one of Trump’s properties could lead the president to profit off taxpayer money.

He then switched the venue back to Camp David, the president’s country retreat in Frederick County, Maryland.

Read more about:

Get the free uPolitics mobile app for the latest political news and videos

iPhone Android

Leave a comment