Democrats have expressed hopes that they would be able to seize control of the Senate, as a total of 33 of the 100 seats were up for grabs in the regular general election, another two seats are holding special elections. Of the seats up for election, 12 were held by Democrats and 23 by Republicans.

The GOP had 53 seats going into the election, meaning Democrats would have to net a total of four seats.

Seats that have flipped or are in danger of flipping: Alabama (flipped D to R), Arizona (likely to flip R to D), Colorado (flipped R to D), Michigan (leaning to flip D to R) and Montana (leaning to flip R to D). Based on these preliminary results, it appears Democrats will only gain one Senate seat. Georgia is set to move to a runoff election.

The complete, current results for the Senate races are below.


A week of political news in your in-box.
We find the news you need to know, so you don't have to.


Tommy Tuberville (R) was declared the winner over Doug Jones* (D) (62.% to 37.7%, with 66% of precincts reporting)


Dan Sullivan* (R) faces off against Al Gross (D) (precincts not yet reporting)


Special election: Mark Kelly (D) is leading Martha McSally* (R) by 55.1% to 44.9%, with 75% of precincts reporting


Tom Cotton* was declared the winner over Libertarian Ricky Harrington (67.5% to 32.5% with 63% of precincts reporting)


John Hickenlooper (D) was declared the winner over Cory Gardner* (R) (54.6% to 43.4%, with 84% of precincts reporting)


Chris Coons* (D) was declared the winner over Lauren Witzke (R) (59.9% to 37.4%, with 97% of precincts reporting)


Special election: David Perdue* (R) is leading against Jon Osoff (D), 54.7% to 43% and 62% of precincts reporting


Jim Risch* (R) was declared the winner over Paulette Jordan (D) (87% to 12.3%, with less than 1% of precincts reporting)


Richard Durbin* (D) was declared the winner against Mark Curran (R) (54.1% to 39.1%, with 56% of precincts reporting)


Joni Ernst* (R) was declared the winner over Theresa Greenfield (D) with 51.7% to 45.2%, with 91% of precincts reporting)


Roger Marshall (R) was declared the winner by AP against Barbara Bollier (D) (52.8% to 42.3%, with 80% of precincts reporting)


Mitch McConnell* (R) defeated Amy McGrath (D) (58.3% to 37.7%, with 91% of precincts reporting)


Bill Cassidy* (R) is declared winner (62.4%) against Democrats Adrian Perkins (16.9%) and Derrick Edwards (10.4%), with 77% of precincts reporting


Susan Collins* (R) is leading Sara Gideon (D) 52.4% to 41.2% and 55% of precincts reporting


Ed Markey* (D) is declared the winner over Kevin O’Connor (R) (66.1% to 33.1%, with 41% of precincts reporting)


John James (R) is leading Gary Peters* (D) 53.9% to 44.2%, with 61% of precincts reporting


Tina Smith* (D) is leading Jason Lewis (R) 51.7% to 40.7% and 52% of precincts reporting


Cindy Hyde-Smith* (R) declared the winner over Mike Espy (D) (57.3% to 40.8%, with 47% of precincts reporting)


Steve Bullock (D) is leading Steve Daines* (R) 53.4% to 46.6%, with 26% of precincts reporting


Ben Sasse* (R) declared the winner over Chris Janicek (D) (64.4% to 27.6%, with 55% of precincts reporting)

New Hampshire

Jeanne Shaheen* (D) declared the winner over Corky Messner (R) (57.4% to 40.8%, with 45% of precincts reporting)

New Jersey

Cory Booker* (D) declared the winner over Rikin Mehta (R) (60.6% to 37.7%, with 60% of precincts reporting)

New Mexico

Ben Ray Lujan (D) is leading Mark Ronchetti (R) 50.4% to 47.2% with 78% of precincts reporting

North Carolina

Thomas Tillis* (R) is leading Cal Cunningham (D) 48.7% to 47%, with 94% of precincts reporting


Jim Inhofe* (R) was declared the winner over Abby Broyles (D) (62.9% to 32.8%, with 95% of precincts reporting)


Jeff Merkley* (D) was declared the winner over Joe Rae Perkins (R) (58.6% to 38%, with 85% of precincts reporting)

Rhode Island

Jack Reed* (D) was declared the winner over Allen Waters (R) (57.1% to 42.9%, with 49% of precincts reporting)

South Carolina

Lindsey Graham* (R) was declared the winner over Jaime Harrison (D) with 57.3% to 41.3% and 69% of precincts reporting

South Dakota

Mike Rounds* (R) was declared the winner over Dan Ahers (D) with 68.7% to 31.3% and 78% of precincts reporting


Bill Hagerty (R) was declared the winner over Marquita Bradshaw (D) with 62.5% to 34.9% and more than 98% of precincts reporting


John Cornyn* (R) was declared the winner over M.J. Hegar (D) with 53.8% to 43.7% and 90% of precincts reporting


Mark Warner* (D) was declared the winner over Daniel Gade (R) with 51.1% to 48.9% and 79% of precincts reporting

West Virginia

Shelley Moore Capito* (R) was declared the winner over Paula Jean Swearingen (D) with 64.5% to 33.1% and more than 98% of precincts reporting


Cynthia Lummis (R) was declared the winner over Merav Ben-David (D) with 73.6% to 26.4% and 73%`

Read more about:

Get the free uPolitics mobile app for the latest political news and videos

iPhone Android

Leave a comment