White House Press Secretary Jen Psaki told reporters on Tuesday that the administration will not name a “designated survivor” for President Joe Biden‘s address to Congress this week. Psaki explained that since most of Biden’s cabinet will not attend the speech, there is no need to name a survivor.

The designated survivor is a member of a presidential administration chosen to not attend a high-profile address who could take control of the government if the event is targeted for an attack. A designated survivor is traditionally named for State of the Union addresses where all members of the presidential line of succession are in attendance. If the upcoming joint session of Congress were attacked, the line of succession would name Secretary of Treasury Janet Yellen acting-President. The succession members before Yellen are, are Vice President Kamala Harris, Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi (D-California), president pro-tempore of the Senate Patrick Leahy (D-Vermont) and Secretary of State Anthony Blinken, who are all expected to attend the upcoming joint session speech by Biden.

Since the existing line of succession will not be broken if the upcoming joint session were targeted by an attack, there is no need to name a designated survivor.

Subscribe to our free weekly newsletter!

A week of political news in your in-box.
We find the news you need to know, so you don't have to.

Read more about:

Get the free uPolitics mobile app for the latest political news and videos

iPhone Android

Leave a comment