Republican senators blocked a bill Friday that would form an independent commission to probe the deadly Jan. 6 riot at the U.S. Capitol.

The vote was 54 to 35 against – 6 votes short of the 60 needed to advance. Two Democrats and nine Republicans did not vote.

The six Republican senators who backed the bill with 48 Democratic members were: Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), Ben Sasse (R-Nebraska), Bill Cassidy (R-Louisiana), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), and Susan Collins (R-Maine).

Following the vote, Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-New York) trashed Republican senators’ decision to side with the former president.


A week of political news in your in-box.
We find the news you need to know, so you don't have to.

“This vote has made it official: Donald Trump’s ‘Big Lie’ has now fully enveloped the Republican Party,” Schumer said after the vote Friday.

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-California) criticized Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Kentucky) and his fellow GOP senators for blocking the bill.

“In bowing to McConnell’s personal favor request, Republican Senators surrendered to the January 6th mob assault,” she said in a statement. “Leader McConnell and Senate Republicans’ denial of the truth of the January 6th insurrection brings shame to the Senate.”

Read more about:

Get the free uPolitics mobile app for the latest political news and videos

iPhone Android

Leave a comment