The far-right Proud Boys group is now making an effort to change policies from the inside as five current and former members have successfully secured seats on the Miami-Dade Republican Executive Committee.

The members are Chris Barcenas, Pedro Barrios, Gilbert Fonticoba, Gabriel Garcia and Nowell Salgueiro.

Barcenas was present at the riot outside the U.S. Capitol on January 6, 2021, but he did not enter the building. He was not charged and voluntarily testified before the House select committee that has been investigating the events of that day for the past 11 months and told them what he knew about the Proud Boys’ plan that day.

Barrios, a current member, previously ran for a seat in the Florida state House in 2020, but didn’t win.

Subscribe to our free weekly newsletter!

A week of political news in your in-box.
We find the news you need to know, so you don't have to.

Fonticoba was one of the Proud Boys members who was charged for breaching the Capitol and is awaiting his trial.

Garcia is no longer a member of the extremist group. He was also one of the many who entered the Capitol, but is now out on bail.

Salgueiro is a current member and it is unknown if he was present at the riots.

Read more about:

Get the free uPolitics mobile app for the latest political news and videos

iPhone Android

Leave a comment