The House voted overwhelmingly for legislation that would award Capitol Police officers who defended Congress during the January 6 riots the Congressional Gold Medal. The House passed the bill in a 406-21 vote. Twenty-one Republicans voted against the measure.

Republicans still cannot agree on the meaning of the events of Jan. 6.

The bill, which was revised once, will award a medal to the U.S. Capitol Police force and one for the D.C. Metropolitan Police Department, A memorial plaque will be placed at the Smithsonian Institution with the words for “all the law enforcement agencies that protected and defended the Capitol.”

The bill states: “so that the sacrifices of fallen officers and their families, and the contributions of other law enforcement agencies who answered the call of duty on January 6, 2021, can be recognized and honored in a timely manner.”

Subscribe to our free weekly newsletter!

A week of political news in your in-box.
We find the news you need to know, so you don't have to.

After the first revision, 12 Republicans voted against the bill, but that number rose to 21 in the final vote.

One Republican, Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-Georgia), stated her opposition to the bill was due to the fact that it referred to January 6 as an “insurrection.” She told reporters, “I wouldn’t call it an insurrection.”

Others, like Rep. Thomas Massie (R-Kentucky), said that the language of the bill was inappropriate considering there were still ongoing investigations into the matter.

Other Republicans have spoken out against their colleagues, condemning their actions.

Republicans who opposed the bill are:

Lauren Boebert of Colorado
John Rose of Tennessee
Andy Harris of Maryland
Thomas Massie of Kentucky
Bob Good of Virginia
Louie Gohmert of Texas
Barry Moore of Alabama
Ralph Norman of South Carolina
Matt Rosendale of Montana
Marjorie Taylor Greene of Georgia
Chip Roy of Texas
Paul Gosar of Arizona
Andy Biggs of Arizona
Warren Davidson of Ohio
Scott Perry of Pennsylvania
Matt Gaetz of Florida
Greg Steube of Florida
Andrew Clyde of Georgia
Jody Hice of Georgia
Mary Miller of Illinois
Michael Cloud of Texas

Read more about:

Get the free uPolitics mobile app for the latest political news and videos

iPhone Android

Leave a comment