European Union officials are in the process of finalizing two lists that would enumerate which countries would be allowed in Europe starting July 1. These lists are dependent on how countries are handling the coronavirus cases. Specifically, the union is preparing to block citizens from countries such as Brazil, Russia and the United States.

Under President Donald Trump, there have been more than 2.3 million cases of COVID-19 and over 120,000 deaths, more than any other country worldwide.

Before the coronavirus outbreak declined in Europe, all countries were banned from entering the E.U. There were few exceptions for those who had “essential travel” and special accommodations.

Keeping Americans from visiting European countries would have a drastic effect on geopolitical, cultural and economic exchanges and prevent millions of Americans from visiting Europe for vacations in the summer season.

Subscribe to our free weekly newsletter!

A week of political news in your in-box.
We find the news you need to know, so you don't have to.

The list is expected to be modified every two weeks following COVID-19 infection rates for countries that did not make the list. European officials predict that the U.S. could be added to the list as time progressed.

The list will be updated by the European Union’s 27 member states.

The list will be published on July 1, and the E.U. hopes members will follow and adapt to the rules.

Read more about:

Get the free uPolitics mobile app for the latest political news and videos

iPhone Android

Leave a comment